Juneteenth Awards and Gala


NYABJ Announces Finalists in Black Excellence Awards

Winners to Be Named at the 2nd Annual Juneteenth Gala

NEW YORK (Feb. 23, 2023) —  The New York Association of Black Journalists is pleased to announce the finalists in its 2023 Black Excellence Awards.

The awards program honors excellence in journalism coverage of people, issues, and developments in African-American and African Diaspora communities in the Greater New York City area.

“We congratulate the finalists for Black Excellence Awards. The program elevates the stories of Black communities and issues, which too often go under-reported. This reporting sheds light on stories of perseverance, tragedy, success, and innovation,” NYABJ President Bonita Sostre said.

The highly anticipated event is expected to be well-attended by the who’s who in the media.

Award winners will be announced at NYABJ’s 2nd Annual Juneteenth Gala, which will take place from 6 to 9 p.m. Monday, June 19, at The Water Club, 500 E. 30th St., New York, NY 10016 (Manhattan).

Here is the list of Black Excellence Awards finalists:

Gwen Ifill Award for Excellence in News Reporting

  • “Aftershock” — ABC News Studios/Onyx Collective/Hulu
  • “X/onerated: The Murder of Malcolm X and 55 Years to Justice” — ABC News’ “Soul of a Nation”
  • “CBS Sunday Morning: American Tragedy?” — CBS News
  • “CBS Sunday Morning: An Act of Faith” — CBS News

Stuart Scott Award for Excellence in Sports Reporting

  • “Beyond Limits Series” — CBS Sports
  • “Honoring Black History” — Justin Walters, PIX11 News
  • “Fisk Gymnastics Feature” — CBS Sports

Ida B. Wells Award for Excellence in Print Journalism

  • “Dunia, From Tragedy to Triumph” — Newsday
  • “Wells Fargo Rejected Half Its Black Applicants in Mortgage Refinancing Boom” —Bloomberg News
  • “Affirmative Action’s End Will Crush the Diversity Talent Pipeline” — Bloomberg News

Rhonesha Byng Award for Excellence in Podcast/Radio Program 

    • “Return to the Tower” — The Salvation Army
    • “Beyond Black History Month” — 1010 WINS/WCBS Newsradio 880
    • “We Shall Not Be Moved!”  — 1010 WINS

Ed Bradley Award for Excellence in Investigative Reporting

  • “Suffer the Children” — The New Amsterdam News, Blacklight Investigative Unit
  • “FBI Violence Taskforce” — “The CBS Evening News with Norah O’Donnell”

Max Robinson Award for Excellence in Local TV Reporting

  • “Black History of New York: Before Central Park, There Was Seneca Village” — Kay Angrum, NBC New York/WNBC-TV
  • “Discussion on Diversity Abroad with Ambassadors Pamela Spratlen and Harriet Elam Thomas” — Cultural Caravan Productions Inc., NYC Media

For questions about the awards program or gala, email Sostre at president@nyabj.org.

The New York Association of Black Journalists is a chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists, the world’s largest trade group for journalists of color.  Founded in 1976, the chapter is a nonprofit that advocates for diversity in newsrooms and fair coverage of communities of color, and provides journalism training and support for media professionals in the Greater New York area.

Purchase Company Tables
: Click here
Purchase Individual Tickets for NYABJ Members: Click here
Purchase Sponsorships: Click here.